Boracay Pleasure Paradise

Misamis Oriental

page 1

Name of the Province

“Misamis” is derived from the word “MISA” which is the Spanish term of mass. When Christianity was yet new in the Philippines, the word “MISA” was shouted by converts everytime priests traveled in area around the province. Thus, over a period of time, the Spanish Missionaries started calling the province by the name Misamis.

Other sources revealed the word “Misamis” is derived from “KUYAMIS”, a variety of sweet coconut, which was the staple food of the earliest known Negrito settlers of the territory. The word “KUYAMIS” was corrupted to Misamis when the Spanish colonizers came.

Political Subdivisions

Misamis used to be a part of the province of Cebu. In 1818 it became a corregimiento comprised of four (4) partidos or division: Partido de Misamis, Partido de Dapitan, Partido de Cagayan and Partido de Catarman.During the latter part of the 19th century, Misamis was one of the six (6) districts of Mindanao, and later, one of the seven (7) districts of Mindanao and Sulu at the close of the Spanish era with Cagayan de Misamis, now Cagayan de Oro, as its capital.

When it was still a part of the district of Cebu, there were twelve (12) Spaniards and nine (9) Filipinos who successively served as “governadores” with Major Jose Carabillo as the first governor in 1874.Legislative Act. No. 3537, approved in November 1929, divided the province of Misamis into two provinces due to lack of geographical continuity: Misamis Oriental and Misamis Occidental.

However, it was not until ten years later that the division was implemented by Amendment Act. No. 3777, adopted on November 28, 1939. When Misamis Oriental became a separate province, Don Gregorio was its first Governor. Since then there were twenty three (23) gubernatorial terms of office occupied by twenty three (23) governors who were elected and appointed by operation of law.

Geographical Location

Misamis Oriental is one of the five provinces of Northern Mindanao. Falling between eight degrees twenty eight minutes thirty eight seconds five hundred sixteen latitude (8º28’38”516 Lat.) and one hundred forty two degrees thirty eight minutes thirty five seconds two hundred thirty five longitude (142º38’35”235 long.), the province is located along the northern coast of the island of Mindanao.

The province is bounded on the north by Macajalar Bay, on west by Iligan Bay, on the south and southwest by the provinces of Bukidnon and Lanao del Norte and the east by Agusan del Norte.


Two types of climates in the province are based on rainfall distribution. The first type, which occurs in the eastern municipalities of Kinoguitan to Magsaysay, has a very pronounced maximum rainfall from November to January and generally wet the whole year. The second type, which occurs in the central and western part of the province, is relatively dry from November to April and wet during the rest of the year.

It covers the municipalities of Sugbongcogon, in the east and down to Lugait in the west. The climate is usually pleasant with warmer days and cooler nights.

Language/ Dialects

Cebuano, Tagalog, Maranao, Hiligayon, Ilonggo, Waray, and English.

Political Subdivision / Population

Misamis Oriental is one of the 22 provinces of Mindanao and one of the 4 provinces of new Region 10. It has two cities, Cagayan de Oro, the capital, and Gingoog City, a component city, and twenty four (24) municipalities with three hundred forty nine (349) barangays. The province is divided into districts, comprising the following municipalities with its corresponding 1995 population estimates:

First District
1. Balingasag 2. lagonlong 3.Salay 4. Binuangan
5. Sugbongcogon 6. Kinoguitan 7. Balingoan 8. Talisayan
9. Medina 10. Gingoog City

11. Magsaysay


Second District
1. Claveria 2. Jasaan 3. Villanueva 4. Tagoloan
5. Opol 6. El Salvador 7. Alubijid 8. Laguindingan
9. Gitagum 10. Libertad

11. Initiao

12. Naawan
13. Manticao 14. Lugait    
This is a Travel Agent Website... All Rights Reserved. Monday, 19 February 2018, 07:29 AM CST